2013 TWAS-Celso Furtado Prize in Social Sciences from Developing Countries’ Scientists

Études Bourses  Brésil

Attention, ce contenu n'est plus d'actualité !
Merci de l'ignorer

The World Academy of Sciences(TWAS) with the funding from the Brazilian Government offers Celso Furtado Prize in social sciences for the scientists from a developing country. Annual prize of  US$15,000 will be awarded for up to four years. The selection of candidates is based on merit and on the recommendations of the selection committees composed of TWAS members. Nominations for the 2013 prize must be submitted by 28th February 2013.

Study Subject(s): Prize will be awarded in the field of social sciences.
Course Level: This prize is available for pursuing research.
Scholarship Provider: Brazilian Government
Scholarship can be taken at: Brazil

Eligibility: Candidates for the TWAS-Celso Furtado Prize in Social Sciences must be scientists who have been working and living in a developing country for at least ten years immediately prior to their nomination. They must meet the following criterion:

  • To have made an outstanding contribution in both understanding and addressing social sciences disciplines such as economics, political sciences and sociology.
  • Members of TWAS and candidates for TWAS membership are not eligible for the prize.
  • Self-nominations will not be considered.

Scholarship Open for International Students: The scientists from a developing country can apply for the prize.

Scholarship Description: The prize reflects the Brazilian government’s strong support for TWAS and, more generally, for helping to build scientific capacity in the developing world. Such support has been reflected in the efforts of the former Presidents of Brazil Fernando Henrique Cardoso (TWAS Fellow 1984) and Luiz Inácio Lula da Silva, and the former Ministers of Science and Technology José Israel Vargas (TWAS Fellow 1988) and Sergio Rezende (TWAS Fellow 2004). President Cardoso and Minister Vargas played central roles in the creation of the TWAS-Celso Furtado Prize in Social Sciences.” The TWAS-Celso Furtado Prize is named after the renowned Brazilian economist, Celso Monteiro Furtado (1920-2004). Furtado’s research focused on the plight of the poor in Brazil and throughout South America. He emphasized the importance of devising economic development policies that focused on building a strong industrial base for what he often referred to as ‘peripheral economies’. He also foresaw the rise of a globalized world, which he said would be spurred by ‘the spread of the world economy’, and he urged developing countries to take steps to ensure that they would not be marginalized in the face of these trends.

Duration of award(s): The prize is offered for four years.

What does it cover? Annual prize of US$15,000 will be awarded

Selection Criteria: Selection of the awardees is made on merit and on the recommendations of the selection committees composed of TWAS members.

How to Apply: The mode of applying is by email.

Scholarship Application Deadline: Nominations for the 2013 prize must be submitted by 28th February 2013.

Further Official Scholarship Information and Application