2013 The Georg Forster Research Award for Developing Countries Students in Germany

Études Bourses  Allemagne

Attention, ce contenu n'est plus d'actualité !
Merci de l'ignorer

Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development offers five Georg Forster Research Award for developing countries students. The students of developing countries (excluding People’s Republic of China and India) can apply for this Research Award. Women researcher is encouraged to apply. The applicants must have had their main residence and place of work in one of these countries for at least five years at the time of their nomination. The award covers total amount of EUR 60,000. Selection criteria are academic achievements. Send complete application by post.

Study Subject(s): The research award is provided to learn all courses offered by the university.
Course Level: This scholarship is available for pursuing research programme.
Scholarship Provider: Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development
Scholarship can be taken at: Germany


  • Nominees must be nationals of a developing or transition country (excluding People’s Republic of China and India; cf. detailed list of countries).
  • Furthermore, at the time of nomination, they must have had their main residence and place of work in one of these countries for at least five years.
  • The Alexander von Humboldt Foundation particularly encourages the nomination of qualified female researchers.

Scholarship Open for Students of Following Countries: The students of Afghanistan, Ecuador, Macedonia, Samoa Albania, Egypt, Madagascar, Sao Tomé, Príncipe Algeria, El Salvador, Malawi, Senegal, Angola, Equatorial Guinea, Malaysia, Serbia, Antigua and Barbuda, Eritrea, Maldives, Seychelles, Argentina, Ethiopia, Mali, Sierra Leone, Armenia, Marshall Islands, Solomon Islands, Azerbaijan, Fiji, Mauritania, Somalia, Mauritius, South Africa, Mexico, South Sudan, Bangladesh, Gabon, Micronesia, Fed. States, Sri Lanka, Belarus, Gambia, Moldova, Rep. St. Kitts and Nevis, Belize, Georgia, Montenegro, St. Lucia, Benin, Ghana, Morocco, St. Vincent, Bhutan, Grenada Mongolia, the Grenadines, Bolivia, Guatemala, Mozambique, Sudan, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Guinea, Myanmar, Suriname, Botswana, Guinea-Bissau, Swaziland, Brazil, Guyana, Syria, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Namibia, Tajikistan, Haiti, Nauru, Tanzania, Honduras, Nepal, Thailand, Nicaragua, Timor-Leste Cambodia, Indonesia, Niger, Togo, Cameroon, Iran, Nigeria, Tonga, Cape Verde, Iraq Niue Tunisia, Central African Republic, Turkey, Chad, Jamaica, Turkmenistan, Chile , Jordan, Tuvalu, Colombia, Pakistan, Comoros, Kazakhstan, Palestinian territories, Congo, Dem. Rep. of Kenya, Palau, Uganda, Congo, Rep. of the Kiribati, Panama, Ukraine, Cook Islands, Korea, Dem. PR of Papua New Guinea, Uruguay, Costa Rica, Kosovo, Paraguay, Uzbekistan, Cote d’Ivoire, Kyrgyzstan, Peru, Cuba, Philippines, Vanuatu, Laos, Venezuela, Lesotho, Rwanda, Vietnam, Dominica, Lebanon, Dominican Republic, Liberia, Djibouti, Libya, Yemen, Zambia, Zimbabwe can apply for this scholarship.

Scholarship Description: The Georg Forster Research Award is granted in recognition of a researcher’s entire achievements to date to academics of all disciplines whose fundamental discoveries, new theories, or insights have had a significant impact on their own discipline and beyond and who are expected to continue developing research-based solutions to the specific challenges facing transition and developing countries.

Number of awards offered: In 2013, the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation is granting up to four Georg Forster Research Awards.

Duration of award(s): The project duration of about six to twelve months may be divided into segments.

What does it cover? The award amount totals EUR 60,000. In Germany, research awards are generally exempt from income tax under German tax law.

Selection Criteria: The Selection Committee makes its decision solely on the basis of the nominees’ academic qualifications and the relevance of their research to the development of their own countries.

Notification: Nominees will be notified about the Selection Committee’s decision immediately after the meeting.

How to Apply: The mode of applying is by post.
To make a nomination, please use only the current nomination documents, which can be downloaded from the Humboldt Foundation’s website: http://www.humboldt-foundation.de.
Please visit the Guidelines for completing the nomination on the Humboldt Foundation’s website for further information on the selection procedure.

Scholarship Application Deadline: The application closing date is 15th May 2013.

Further Official Scholarship Information and Application